Becoming a Writer: My story journey through Trials, Trepidation and Exuberance.

In these past weeks, I have grown greatly as a writer. I have formally come out as a penman, one on a public page and another my website. There have been times in the past and sure there will be in the future I may fall, but as always I will pick myself up and dust off the negativity. Coming up soon will be my first lecture as a writer. It will be a co-lecture with my good friend Steven Bolin. Finding the time for my lecture, my blogs, my mother, my book and other things has been hard, but in the end, it has all been worth it.

This year did not start off as I wished it to be, my book had stalled and I started to lose my focus. Depression was overcoming my outlook on life, and I was faltering. I have suffered depression on and off for many years and I usually just power through. In the past, this would take between six to eight months to truly move ahead of it. This time, I knew I didn’t have the time to wait and see what happened At the end of February, I decided to look for help and I found it! With the help of my local GP, a great psychologist and the support of my friends and family, I started on the road mending my deep pit of depression. During this time I wrote another thirteen thousand words to bring me to the brink of thirty thousand. This was a great achievement. Never in my life have I ever reached this many words for one of my stories. Then with my treatment, I again started to gain momentum, but I still saw some issues for my book.

Firstly, I am a panser or free-former writer where everything is straight from my imagination to the page. I started to notice that my writing was lacking in the better sense of the word, I became lost in the story line. At this point, Lisa Chaplin walked into Writers Activation, where I volunteer, and after a little chat, she invited me to her Master-Class. In a previous blog is my review of this class, if you want to know more. While listening to Lisa, I learned some important stratagem to help with my writing, I decided to implement them into my creative process. This caused my most precious moment of 2016 (so far), the complete plotting out of my book! I exalt, I jump, I dance all with joy in my heart. This was my best experience of completing something. This helped with another achievement, my lecture which I will co-host on the 23rd of this month.

World-building, for fictional writers and campaign settings, is the name for my joint adventure into the writing world. It has been three weeks since Steve (aka Hobbit) and I started to plan for this. His lovely wife Kami helped us out by writing all our ramblings down so we could have a set plan on what we would talk about. Now it was time to write it! Kami did notice do something that I hadn’t realised before. This was that I have been telling and writing stories since I was six years old and with this revelation I concluded I have nearly thirty-one years of storytelling experience under my belt. This shocked me to the core. I felt that I was a novice and didn’t know better. Now I have embraced this, and it has been reflected in my interaction with other writers and authors. I am looking forward to this lecture, as it has been shown much interest and I am glad to give back to the community.

As I end this blog, I would like to give a shout out to my mother. From the beginning of my journey, she has been there for me. Even though she has issues with her health, this never stops her involvement in my life and writing. Every piece of work I do will be edited by my mum, who has over twenty-five years of experience as an English teacher. As I know she will be reading this, all I can do is thank her from the bottom of my heart and I will be always there for her. I am proud to be her son!

Doesn’t matter what life throws at you, just roll with the punches. Every day make me happy that I am moving toward completing my book.

9 thoughts on “Becoming a Writer: My story journey through Trials, Trepidation and Exuberance.”

  1. thanks for sharing it takes courage to be so open about depression. Very inspiring blog I’m excited to see where your writing and community involvement takes you next!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Though I don’t know you very well Sam I can recognize who you are through this article. Lots of it could very easily apply to me and I am sure that other people will think the same thing. I am looking forward to reading your book!

    Tom. (Ramshackle Ideas).

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Awww Sam, thats an awesome share. Gives some insight into who you are.
    Im a mum to of a daughter who suffers from depression and walking that road with her and being there altho harrowing is also rewarding. Seeing her push on and blossom. Much like your mum i suspect. Good luck and thankyou for sharing that part of who you are.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

