Review of Battle of Skeptron.

So my second review of the books I collected from Supanova. Mr Gennari impressed me with his creative vision, combining martial arts with a sci-fi fantasy world; remarkable.

Battle of Skeptron is the first of a future series by R. D, Gennari. It is set in the world Númaria. This is a sci-fi/fantasy book. I do not read many sci-fi books, as I find them bogged down with technical terms and distracts from the story. While reading this even though it is technically sci-fi, it felt more like High Fantasy, in the scope and mysticism of the land and its people. There are certain things I have to tip my hat to Mr Gennari, and a few things that I could suggest to help improve the readability of the book.

Let us start with what drew me to the story and the book. First thing is the world, in essence, the world building. Wow! Building the world with rich history and lore is a marvellous thing, of the style of the spoken language to the martial art; Lúkari to the different races and their histories. I could go on and on about the richness of this book’s landscape. Being a person who has created the world like this for his own series I can tell the effort Mr Gennari has been put into it. Even that there is technology, it feels more like a part of the world and not unique, which again well done. Another thing I love about this book is the map! I can not tell you how much I love maps. Maps show you the world, and you can track the progress of the heroes. Wonderful! The characters Areus, Santia, Ryaklesian, Belvara, etc. are well thought out characters, each with their own lore and personality.

But the world itself does smother the contents of these individuals. Which bring to my issues with the book. The book itself is well written, but it had something that I have to call ‘Tolkenistis’. What is Tolkenistis? Well, is over description; a lush and vibrant world that overtakes the story. The new terms, races, language, etc. can slow or smother the progress of the story and due to this slows down the story to the point of sluggishness. The more complex of the world, the more explaining that you will have to do for the standard terms/casual conversations. This can be solved with a simple glossary. Once you are past the world building, the story flows, and with a bang, it is a ride of pure enjoyment!

In the end, I found the Battle for Skeptron an interesting read, and I will be looking forward to more about this world, story and characters. For lovers of multi-layered, complicated written books, this is for you!

Leave a Reply

